A spin on the Holiday

Image

 

 

The holiday seems to approach very quickly, and just as quick as it comes, it goes right away. I wanted to capture and manipulate the holiday spirit. The first time I snapped a photo it was during the night. Unfortunately, the images did not capture what I wanted it t share. I went to Haddonfield to snap photos because the atmosphere seemed inviting. But I wasn’t satisfied. So I traveled to the Deptford mall, here the area was radiating with opportunities to capture a variety of moments.

            I began taking pictures to show how positive the holidays can be, but I was still not excited about the way they were coming out. Instead, I changed my approached and decided to show the negativity that it can bring out. I took the pictures in a “normal setting” then altered the pictures with color. By doing this, the thought began to take shape. I enjoyed taking pictures at different angles, even though had several onlookers staring at me. Since I was in a public place, I had to ask for permission to capture images in the mall. That was a bit of a hassle, security almost had to follow me around the store to ensure I was not taking photos with store names on them. That was more complicated then I thought because I had to get the right spot without manipulating the photo so much.

            Growing up, I was always told asked to take Holiday photos. I would have to get dressed up for Santa Claus and take family portraits. I hated that! Through the positive atmosphere, negative thoughts can be presented in ones mind and that is what I was trying to show in my essay. Some of the photos depict loneliness as well.

 

My photo essay 

This entry was written by nloftus23 and published on December 22, 2012 at 12:18 am. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

